Facebook Ads for Musicians – Ultimate 1 Cent Click Guide

Below is a guest post from UK music marketer Chris Rockett. I asked Chris to share something with the GYRS crowd and I think this is a great post on getting started with Facebook Ads. We all know that Facebook is huge, but you have to do a lot more than just throw a whole bunch of money out there and hope for the best? Here are some ideas from Chris on how to get your ads seen by more folks. You can connect with Chris on his website where his talks about Music Promotion, Band Promotion and advice for a successful Music Career.

If you want to write something from GYRS, send me an email to marketing@genyrockstars.com and you can share your info and knowledge with over 10,000 indie musicians and industry pros.

If you really think you have what it takes to make it in the music business, but don’t know know how to reach the right fans for your music, you have a big problem…

Like many other musicians you will probably have wasted a lot of time so far trying to get fans to come to your site using stuff like YouTube, Twitter and Facebook, but the fact is, while all that stuff can work if you keep at it for a couple of hours a day, it takes so much time and effort that you can sometimes be left with no time to actually create your music – which is the thing that in the end will be the key to your success.

This is where paid advertising comes in…

With paid ads you just set up an email subscription form on your website and then use ads to send hits to that page from people who are looking for information on similar bands that you think you sound most like.

This is a great way to do laser targeted marketing because you already know that they are much more likely to become fans because they got up off their butts and are actually looking for information about your music niche.

The biggest problem with most music marketing is the amount of time wasted on tasks that really don’t push your fan base forward.

Why Google Ads Suck!

I’m sure you’ve seen this stuff before, Google have a whole set of natural search results in the center of their search result and then a bunch of paid links at the top and on the right. So each time that a user clicks on one of those ads the advertiser has to pay for the click.

Perfect right?

You just buy a whole bunch of clicks from people searching for Metallica and your death metal band will have more fans than Lady Gaga….

Wrong…

The problem with Google pay per click is that you might have to pay anywhere up to $1 a click for your hits.

So let’s do some math.

  • You buy 1000 clicks = $1000
  • Out of those 1000 clicks you get 5% of the people to join your list = 50 (Actually a 5% conversion rate to email subscriber would be a great number, it would probably be more like 2%)
  • Out of those 50 people 10% buy your $7 album = 5×7=$35

So after spending $1000 you made a grand total of $35 leaving you 975 out of pocket…

Not good at all!

This is where Facebook ads come in…

By using a Facebook ad the way I will show you in the rest of this post you will be able to get clicks for as little 1 cent a click which will massively raise your profitability.

Lets look at the math again…

  • You but 1000 clicks = $10
  • Out of those 1000 clicks you get 5% of the people to join your list = 50
  • Out of those 50 people 10% buy your $7 album = 5×7=$35

So you have spent $10 and made $35, and that my friends is a great business which you could run all day, everyday, forever!

How to set up a 1 cent Facebook ad, step by step…

Please don’t just jump in the system and start bidding all over the place, if you do that Facebook ads will actually cost you more than Google ads. You need to follow the system below to have any chance of success.

WARNING: Please read the Facebook terms of service before you run any ads because if you mess this stuff up or break any of their rules your account will get banned! Bye Bye Facebook…

WARNING: Running a paid advertising campaign has its risk and although the steps in the guide below can give you a better chance of success there are no guarantees so neither myself or this blog take any responsibility for your financial situation.

Step 1 – Set up your lead capture page and target your perfect fan

You need to create a custom page on your website that offers your new fans something really really really cool in return for their email address.. Don’t use your band website or your Facebook page because if you buy clicks and do not try to get an email address you will be throwing your money down the toilet.

Go into Facebook and click on this link

Then this button

You will then be presented with a whole bunch of demographic options that will help you pick out your perfect fan. Think about this stuff for a while and be ultra specific.

For example, if I was in a heavy metal band I would do something like this:

Age - 23-35 (Because people any younger are less likely to spend money online and people older are not as engaged with music, as a rule.)
Country – pick the country and region that you live in at first because this will start filling up your local gigs.
Keywords – Metalica, Iron Maiden, Megadeath, Anthrax

As I said before you want to target your perfect fan by using keywords that they might have in their profile. So for the heavy metal example I choose stuff like Metallica, Megadeath and Anthrax because those bands are all closely related and would give me a great chance of talking to my perfect fan.

Step 2 – Create your ads

This is the real meat of the facebook system and you will have to get a few different parts right to make a sucessful ad.

Headlines

You want to speak right to your perfect fan upfront. So go with something like this…

  • Do You Like Heavy Metal?
  • Have you been to a Metallica show?
  • Who’s Your Favorite metal band?

Using this kind of headline makes you seem a little psychic to the person on Facebook and you might spike their interest.

The problem that sometimes happens on Facebook is that people see so many ads that they start to become blind to them and never click.

One thing that you will want to do when you get more advanced at this stuff is to rotate your ads so that the people you target will be offered something new each time they log in and be more likely to click.

Ad copy

In the text of the ad you should talk about how clicking will make their life better and as any good marketer will tell you it’s always best to focus on the benefits rather than the feature.

Example: A man want to cut his lawn…

Bad ad: The Lawn 2000 has four blades and a 40 metre chord

Good ad: Our top of the range lawnmower cut grass faster and more precisely than any other on the market, you will have the best looking grass in the neighborhood in the fastest time so you can spend time relaxing with a cold beer.

See?

The second ad focuses on what the customer is really trying to achieve, and this is much more powerful than telling him all the great features of your mower. He does not care about that stuff, deep down he just wants to have the best darn grass in the neighbourhood.

So that’s enough about grass…

How would this work for our Micheal Jackson fan example?

Bad ad: We sound like Micheal Jackson and when you click here we will give you a free track.

Good ad: If you’re a fan of Micheal Jackson you’re going to like band xxxx, everyone who clicks here in the next few minutes will be able to enjoy a free track from the exclusive new album. (It’s cool to ad a little bit of urgency in there for good measure.)

Images

When you’re picking the image to use in your ads make sure you find something that resonates well with your market and also sticks out and looks a little bit strange. Once again you are battling against banner blindness and you need to take every opportunity to counter it.

So for instance if I was going after Micheal Jackson fans I might get a picture of Micheal and give him red devil eyes and rotate the picture on it’s side.

That way there is no way an MJ fan could scroll down the page and miss your offer.

Step 3 -Your Budget and Ad Spend

The last part of setting up your ad is choosing your budget for the advertising campaign and you have to get this right or you will loose your shirt.

Paid advertising always has its risks and you should never spend more than you can afford to loose, you’re just testing for the moment and you can expect your first few tests to go down the toilet.

So when it comes to bidding on Facebook you want to follow a few rules.

  1. Start with a budget of no more than $10 a day. (If you are getting 1 cent clicks this will still give you some good traffic.)
  2. You must use pay per impression and not pay per click. If you choose pay per click you will have to pay up to $1 for each visitor to your website.. But pay per impression is great because you can bid $0.50 per 1000 impressions and if you only get 25 clicks out of those 1000 people you will be getting clicks for around $0.02.

Note: Impressions means the number of times your ads is shown to the Facebook user.

The more clicks you get the better value your ad spend will be, but the real magic here is targeting your fans perfectly and with great detail.

That way they will be so impressed by your ad that they won’t be able to help themselves!

Final Thoughts.

So now you have all the skills to start getting some really cheap hits to your website from Facebook but once again I feel I need to warn you that any paid traffic strategy has its risks and if you go in with all guns blazing you could loose a lot of money.

There is obviously no way I could tell you every detail of Facebook ads in this post so just stick to the golden rules below and you should be fine:

  1. Never spend more than you can afford to loose
  2. Stick to a $10 a day budget.
  3. Target your ads with great details
  4. Use pay per impression
  5. Rotate your ads frequently and test new versions.

I wish you all the best of luck in your Facebook testing…

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Leave A Reply (9 comments So Far)

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  1. Peter Tanham
    520 days ago

    Great post Chris, lots of detail!

    Is the 1c a “best case” price, or something you’d get on average?

    I haven’t tried the impression based ads, I’m getting 3c-8c with click based ads, but I’ll definitely give impression a go if it can lower the cost even more!


  2. Chris Rockett
    520 days ago

    Hey Peter, thanks for reading the articles.

    The 1c click model is base on getting 50 people out of 1000 to click on your ads.

    I have found that if you split test and target your ads really well you can get up to that kind of number without too much trouble.

    Even if you’re ads perform poorly at first you should be able to match or reduce your ad spend. (You’re getting a great price on PPC ads though, good work!)

    Hope that helps.

    Chris.


  3. bobby manriquez
    520 days ago

    my music and abilities are a gift much appreciated……by me and others. i have yet to meet someone who listens to my songs/CDs and doesn’t find him/herself diggin something. that being said…

    i welcome advice on broadening my listener base short of performing, which i’ll not be able to do for months.

    http://b-side-blues.com/RSArticle.htm

    http://www.b-side-blues.com/BR2005.jpg

    (made Guitar Player Mag 2008 w/ my song “Henpecked”)


  4. Dairenn Lombard
    520 days ago

    I owe the fans I have now to advertising on Facebook so I’d like to think i’ve gotten pretty good at it. But 145 is a terrible number in my opinion so I’m always looking for new and better ways of getting this done. You really caught my idea with your 1-cent advertising guide, but, one of the things I wanted to learn the most from this blog is how you get 1-cent CPM ads to even show up.

    In your own screenshot, you’ll notice they have a suggested bid. I have a highly niche market for my style of music in the geographic area I’m targeting. So I wind up with suggested bids that are really expensive (something like between 85 cents to $1.05 per 1,000 impressions, that sort of thing). I’ve had ads submitted before where they will start out getting, say, 5,000 impressions, and then spike to 20,000. I start to get really excited and think, “Whoo hoo! This is better than TV!” And then it drops to 256 and I go, “What the…” And then for the next 11 days, zero. What happened?

    Facebook kinda wont tell you but I think it has to do with the number of people who see and click on the ad. Ultimately if you get zero clicks inside of 48 hours after they’ve shown it to around 40-60 thousand people, they just don’t even bother showing it. While that’s an extreme example, I’m fearful that if I WAY underbid my ad, that ultimately people paying the 70, 80, 90 cents per 1,000 impressions to win that target demographic audience are going to, well, win that target demo audience, and my ads will never show up.

    Are you getting 1-cent ads to appear where the suggested bid is like 35, 45, 55 cents?? What are your impressions and click-thru-ratios looking like on such a campaign?

    Thanks!!


  5. Carla Lynne Hall
    519 days ago

    @Chris – thanks so much for this article. I’ve been interested using in Facebook’s PPC ads, and I really appreciate you sharing your knowledge. I look forward to printing this out and studying closer!

    @Greg Rollett – thanks for another home run article. You’re killing us with great content!!!


  6. Seamus Anthony
    519 days ago

    That’s great Chris – you know I did look at advertising in exactly this way on Google and it can be done fairly cheap but if you were expecting to make a direct profit – like you said – not so. But if you wanted to invest in it it to build a fanbase and maybe (or maybe not) get your cash back later, then it is still a pretty good idea. Anyway – awesome! But judging by the vibe on twitter – all ads for “do you like [insert famous band]?” are about to go up in price exponentially!


  7. Corey Koehler
    519 days ago

    Two Questions;

    1) I’ve had the same experience as Daienn (above) so I would like to second his question?

    2) you talk about rotating your ad. Is this something that you do manually? Or is there some feature I am missing. Just curious. I am pretty fluent rotating ads in Adwords and understand the whole A/B testing thing but never noticed anything in Facebook. Just wondering if you had.


  8. Mike
    519 days ago

    Great post Chris. Any advice on how to setup/layout the actual landing page?

    I am implementing this as we speak.

    Thanks,
    Mike


  9. Chris Rockett
    512 days ago

    Hi guys,

    Thanks for your positive feedback on this.

    I would like to answer a couple of the questions in the comments by saying that to get really cheap CPM you need to look at your targeting again, and make sure your click through is good.

    If know one clicks on your ad Facebook will drop it, which is what you’re seeing.

    …if your ads are not getting clicks then it tells you that you may need to look into the market again for what is going to turn them on.

    How to rotate ads to work on click through?

    I use a paid software which is pretty cool:

    NO AFFILIATE LINK http://www.4houraffiliate.com/facebook-ads-manager

    It’s a bit pricey though, so I would suggest that you try super targeted ads without the software first and try to make some sales.

    Chris

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